The Departments within the Diocese of Plymouth are largely the Vicariates that operate out of the Curial (Administration) offices at St Boniface House near Ashburton.


Diocesan Commissions and similar agencies are groups of people from all walks of life (priests, deacons, religious and laypeople) from across the Diocese. They are appointed by the Bishop and commissioned by him to advise him in certain particular areas of Diocesan life. Although each of these organisations have unique ways of working and engaging with the mission of the Diocese, they all work under the guidance of the Bishop to further the mission of the Church.